top of page
  • Kelsey Meyer

Teacher Blog #1: Pedagogical Strategies & Technology Tools to Build Relationships

In today's blog I will be discussing a specific Pedagogical strategy that I would like to use to build relationships with my students in my teaching career! Additionally I will be using a fun tech tool to assist this project!

Using the pedagogical strategy of scavenger hunt, I would also utilize a myriad of apps for students to explore in a low-stakes way, that we will utilize later throughout the rest of the class/project.

I think that scavenger hunts can be such a fun way to get to know a classroom and our peers/students, and knowing the layout of a classroom is especially important in an art classroom! I think by using this pedagogical strategy students will become involved because they are excited to look for the next clue, they are physically getting involved because they are looking for the next clue, and more.

Scavenger hunts can be a great resource for introducing a classroom, introducing a new topic, and guiding students to do their own research on a project.

If I were using the strategy of scavenger hunt, I can see myself easily implementing this pedagogy as an introduction to the classroom. To really illustrate this example I will reference to the mock classroom I detail in images 6-7 in my Learning to Teach Journal 1.



I would start by having a graphic on my whiteboard/projector screen announcing that we are doing a class scavenger hunt! I would list materials that students need (themselves, laptops, etc.), and assign them to groups listed on the screen. Then for the first technological tool that we would use, I would ask them to add themselves to Google Classroom, using the code as shown on the board, and have a graphic using a clear/detailed font so that students can easily access the code. From there, students will find a Google Doc in an assignment that has the instructions for the rest of the scavenger hunt. I would have students create accounts for apps/sites I know we would us throughout the year- such as Canva- a graphic design site that is incredibly user friendly. I would direct them on how to find classroom essentials- like pencils and paper. I would have them utilize their cameras to photograph a silly drawing that they make, upload it to google drive, and then submit that for an assignment on google classroom. I would also have student find resources like my art books on the bookshelves ( Maybe have them my largest book, The Great Book of French Impressionism, a giant 13" tall book!). To finish, I may even have students fill out a "Getting to Know You" Google Form.



With this strategy my students will become more comfortable in the classroom and knowing it as their own studio. They will also get to know their peers a little bit because this is a group assignment, and so hopefully students will go to their peers with questions about the basics, before they come to me. This way students will know where simple things are- like drawing materials, paper, drawing boards, paint-water cups, sinks and rags, physical and digital resources (like books and apps we will use!), rulers, turn-in areas, different seating areas, and more.


Comments


bottom of page