top of page
  • Kelsey Meyer

ART JOURNAL 9

Entry No. 9

8.9.23

#StudioHabitsOfMind

thinking:

For this piece I was wanting to create a Studio Habits of Mind poster that I personally like to look at and that explains what SHoM means for each habit. Studio Habits of Mind were something I wasn't obsessed with at the start of the semester, and now I really enjoy utilizing them especially in relation to Colorado Art Standards and in creation of rubrics that reflect those state standards. I think SHoM really encourages artistic thinking and reflection throughout the whole creative process.

In consideration of how this allows students to advocate for positive changes via art, I'd reiterate the point of SHoM impacting the ways we reflect throughout the creative cycle. If students are prompted to create art discussing community, empathy, social justice, equity, or other prompts for change, it is essential for them to be aware of their intent versus impact that can occur in the making of art discussing advocacy topics, especially if they have not yet experienced some of the stories they are integrating into their work. By utilizing SHoM, students are forced to analyze if their work is reflective of the message they are hoping it communicates. Each Habit acts as a checkpoint of consideration:

Develop Craft-

Does the technical skill your art displays help the message be delivered clearly and accurately? How does the composition affect this message?

Engage & Persist-

Do you adjust the imagery you utilize to tell this story? What research can you do to ensure your message is received appropriately?

Envision-

What symbols relate to the idea you are trying to communicate? How do colors and textures carry symbolism?

Express-

What is the message you are trying to communicate? Why? What purpose will this work serve?

Observe-

What does your research on this topic tell you? What does advocacy art tend to look like- and do you want to utilize a similar format?

Reflect-

Think about what your message is saying. Do non-artists perceive your work this way, or do you need to re-work it? How does the group/idea you are advocating for feel about the work?

Stretch & Explore-

Am I comfortable with this work or does it say something new? Does this work help me understand why advocacy is important? Did I learn something new about the topic my art discusses?

Understand Art Worlds-

Have I researched other artists that discuss this topic? How do they address it? What do they do well, and where can they improve? What elements of the work is similar across many artworks in this realm of advocacy?


Making:

To make this piece I took the Studio Habits of Mind and used a variety of resources where other educators had summarized each habit in their own words and I utilized the parts I liked from other explanations to make my own. I utilized a colorful palette and a Matisse style fern graphic to make it a little cuter and more visually interesting.


Comments


bottom of page