top of page
  • Kelsey Meyer

Exploration 2: Play in lithography

For this exploration, I originally wanted to create a video explaining the process. Because of the messiness of lithography and the toxicity of certain materials used within the medium, I realized it would not be in my best interest to do this. So instead I will regale you with the process in which I got the marks within each piece.


I have been really excited to see the overlap in the emphasis of exploration in both my lithography class and in this class (art education). Lithography is such an odd medium with so many variations that exploration should be intuitive, and many of our assignments lend themselves to an experimental nature.


In this piece we had to do three layers of different textures, each layer printed in a different shade of black, with the prompt of the assignment being "PLAY".


For my first layer my classroom partner put on nitrile gloves and finger-painted with asphaltum. Asphaltum is an extremely greasy medium, and grease it what helps lithographers make marks into their stones. I then went back to my stone and used a needle tool to create reductive marks. My reductive drawings harkened back to what we normally see children draw- stick figures, suns, square houses with square windows.

The second layer I got grapes from the sculpture courtyard, took them off the vine, and put them in a bowl of water and asphaltum. I also applied gum arabic to grape leaves that had holes all over them from grasshoppers and other bugs snacking on them. When I placed the gum arabic covered leaf on the stone it operated like a stamp, but the spots where the gum arabic goes became "grease-proof" and therefore any grease applied over that spot would not be etched or become part of the print. I then rolled the grease-covered grapes all across the stone, letting their varying sixes and paths create uncontrolled abstract swirls on the stone.

The final layer I took the lid from my iced coffee I had gotten at Momo Lolo's and covered it in asphaltum. I pressed the lid flat and used it like a stamp on my stone.


Below is how the layers turned out:


コメント


bottom of page